

# ALSM JUNIOR YOUTH SERVICE AWARD NOMINATION FORM

Deadline for submission is April 30

## The Award

Allegheny Lutheran Social Ministries established the ALSM Youth Service Award to recognize outstanding service in daily life or community service by a youth. An eligible youth is a member of a Lutheran Congregation in the ALSM service area **who is in grade 8 or below** at the time the award is presented in the fall of each year.

Name of Nominee:			
Grade: (use grade that student will be entering in the fall)			
Address:			
Phone number:	Date:		

### The Criteria

The recipient of this Award is someone who:

- 1. Is an active member of a Lutheran Congregation in the geographic area served by Allegheny Lutheran Social Ministries.
- 2. Has rendered significant services in the Allegheny Synod community through volunteer activities.
- 3. Has rendered significant service to ALSM through volunteering.
- 4. Has demonstrated ongoing concern for, and commitment to, service in the community; and
- 5. Has demonstrated personal integrity and Christian service in all phases of life.

With specific reference to each of the criteria for this Award, explain why you believe that this nominee would be a worthy recipient.

#### 1. Congregation Membership.

2. Service to the Synod Community. Please describe the role of the nominee including leadership through Synodical committees; Synod Assembly; Associate-In-Ministry; volunteer activities with Partners in Ministry, etc.

**3.** Commitment to Service. Please describe other volunteer roles in the general community including length of service and time commitment per hour.

4. Volunteer Activities at ALSM. Please describe volunteer role in an ALSM program/facility, etc.

5. Personal Integrity and Christian Service. Please give an example of the nominee's efforts to serve others in all phases of life.

Submitted By:		
Address:		
-		
Phone:	Email:	
	Please return to:	Office of Advancement Allegheny Lutheran Social Ministries 998 Logan Blvd. Altoona, PA 16602 814.696.4560

# Past Award Recipients

- 2003 Brittany Claar, Christ Lutheran Church, Claysburg
- 2004 Peter DeHuff, Christ Lutheran Church, Claysburg
- 2005 Beth Kauffman, St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Johnstown
- 2006 Robby Breckinridge, Zion Lutheran Church, Hollidaysburg
- 2007 Kenny Bailey, Jr., Christ Lutheran Church, Portage
- 2008 Andrew Woomer, Zion Lutheran Church, Hollidaysburg

# All nomination forms must be returned by August 15, to be considered for this year.